April 15, 2024

The Executive Chairman of Oyo East, Arowosaye Saheed Adeyemi, on Thursday, commended the pronouncement of the state government in reopening the 23 schools that were closed in Atiba, Afijio, Oyo East and Oyo West local government areas for 10 years as a result of boundary dispute.

Arosad, speaking with newsmen shortly after a stakeholders’ meeting in Ibadan, where ban was lifted on the closure of the schools, assured that chairmen of the affected local government areas will ensure security and peace in their domains.

He noted that the decision is not just a victory for the students and parents in the affected schools but a triumph for education in Oyo State as a whole.

The stakeholder’s meeting held at the Western Hall, Secretariat, Ibadan, to fashion out ways of resolving the age-long land dispute, was chaired by the Deputy Governor, Barr. Bayo Lawal, who equally doubles as the chairman of the State Boundary Committee, charged the chairmen of Atiba, Afijio, Oyo East and Oyo West LGA.

Speaking further, AROSAD urged the Ministry of Education to perfectly oversee the reopening of the schools and do whatever is required to put the children back to school.

He enjoined members of the Oyo state House of Assembly representing the affected constituencies to work with community leaders, with a view to returning the children to schools.

He said: “I want to commend state government for its decisive action towards reopening of the schools involved in the four local government areas. This shows that the current government’s efforts at improving the status of education in the state is unquestionable.

“The mediation meeting to resolve long standing boundary issues in the affected government areas in Oyo Federal Constituency is a welcome development.

“Now that order has been made on the reopening, I want to appeal to our elders and chairmen of the affected local governments to consider the future of these children. 

“I equally want to urge all the stakeholders, community leaders, Honourable members, the chairmen of the various local governments to synergise and work together towards reopening of the schools in the interest of those children.”

The affected schools include Community Basic School Obananko, Oyo; Community Basic School Laagbe, Oyo; Pinnock Memorial Bapt School Aba Epo Oluwatedo, Oyo; Bapt Basic School Oluwatedo, Oyo; St. Luke Anglican Bada Idiyalode, Oyo; L.A. Basic School Ago Oyo; Community Basic School Igbo Olose, Oyo in Oyo West LG.

Others are Community Basic School Adebimpe, Oyo; Community Basic School Obasere, Oyo; St. Thomas Anglican School Alabi Olorunda, Oyo; St. Michael RCM Apaara Village, Oyo; Methodist Prima School Ajagba, Oyo; Bapt Central School Oniyanrin, Oyo; Bapt Primary School Aguo, Oyo; ADS Primary School Baba Elesin, Oyo in Oyo East LG.

Also affected are L.A. School Lannite, Oyo; L.A. Primary School Gudugbu Orile, Oyo; L.A. Primary School Gudugbu, Oyo; ADS Primary School Aba Olori, Oyo; ADS Primary Abujakan, Oyo; L.A. Basic School Alagbon, Oyo and L.A. Basic School Imeleke, Oyo also in Oyo East LG.

The meeting was attended by the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Prof. Salihu Adelabu; the Executive Chairman, Oyo State Universal Basic Education Board, Dr. Nureni Aderemi Adeniran; Chairmen of the four local governments; traditional leaders, among other stakeholders.

Share this via

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *