February 23, 2024

In a momentous event, Hon. Olorunpoto Rahman, a member of the Oyo State House of Assembly representing the Oyo East/Oyo West Constituency, and Hon. Gbenga Oyekola, representing the Atiba State Constituency, have collaborated to rejuvenate and relocate the Grade A Customary Court to the Oke Ebo Area within Atiba Local Government.

The commissioning program which was held yesterday, October 16, 2023 at the newly renovated Grade A Customary Court building in Oke Ebo, Atiba Local Government, was a grand affair that showcased the rich cultural and political tapestry of Oyo State.

The program commenced with the singing of the Nigerian national anthem and the Oyo State anthem, followed by an opening prayer that encompassed both traditional and Christian blessings.

A multitude of distinguished guests graced the event, including public office holders, members of the judiciary, traditional rulers, and other prominent figures.

In her welcoming address titled “Why Are We Here?” Mrs. Akinrodoye Imoleayo Tomilola, the President of the Grade A Customary Court, Oyo Chapter, expressed gratitude to all the dignitaries present and highlighted the historical context that led to the renovation of the court.

She began by emphasizing the need to provide a brief history of the incident that ultimately resulted in the rejuvenation of the court. The Grade A Customary Court, Oyo, had been operating from the Town Hall in Akesan Market, a far from ideal arrangement for a courtroom. This dual-purpose Town Hall was often unavailable due to political meetings, social events, and commercial activities, compelling the court to continue sitting there until conditions became intolerable. This led to the temporary relocation to Iroko in January of this year, causing significant inconvenience to all stakeholders.

Mrs. Akinrodoye extended deep appreciation for Hon. Olorunpoto Cephas Rahman, who initiated the renovation project even before being officially sworn into office. Hon. Olorunpoto, who serves as the chairman of the House Committee on Public Accounts and Vice Chairman of the House Committee on Public Petitions, Justice, and Judiciary, demonstrated exceptional dedication by sponsoring and financing a significant portion of the project.

Reverend Obaloluwa played a crucial role by linking Hon. Gbenga Oyekola to the project, which significantly contributed to the transformation of the court. Special thanks were extended to Hon. Gbenga Oyekola for answering the call to make a positive impact in the community.

High Chief Yusuff Akinade Ayoola, Layinka 1, the Bashorun of Oyo Land, expressed appreciation for the collaboration between Hon. Olorunpoto and Hon. Gbenga Oyekola in restoring the Grade A Customary Court to its former glory.

Archbishop Prince Ayo Ladigbolu, the Chairman of the Oyo Metropolitan Development Association, acknowledged the efforts of the two honorable representatives and praised their dedication to justice. He emphasized that relocating the court to Iroko would have been a great shame for Oyo.

Barrister Jide Olanipekun, Chairman of the Nigerian Bar Association, Oyo Chapter, paid tribute to the late Prince Wasiu Gbadegesin and emphasized the importance of a serene and conducive court environment. He clarified the court’s temporary use of Iroko due to the unsuitable conditions of Atiba Hall in Akesan.

In his remarks, Hon. Olorunpoto Rahman expressed appreciation for all dignitaries and reaffirmed his commitment to quality representation, saying that this is just the tip of the iceberg. He stated that the development of Oyo town is a top priority for him.

Hon. Gbenga Oyekola recognized the attendees and praised Hon. Olorunpoto’s courage to ensure that the project comes to fruition and is situated in Atiba Local Government, despite it originally being in Oyo East.

He also used the opportunity to call for the improvement of the state hospital in Oyo Town and implored the honorable members present at the event to support its consideration in the house of assembly.”

Barrister Dele Adisa delivered a vote of thanks, expressing gratitude to the two honorable representatives and all participants.

The program concluded with the official commissioning of the court by the Acting President of the Customary Court of Appeal, Oyo State, Hon. Justice T.M Abdulganiyu.

Alhaji Abubarkar offered the closing prayer.

Visitors had the opportunity to tour the newly renovated facilities, equipped with modern fittings to create a serene and efficient courtroom environment.

A memorable photograph session captured the historic event, marking the return of the Grade A Customary Court to Oyo.

Notable attendees included, Hon. Sunkanmi Babalola (house of assembly member representing Egbeda state Constituency), Hon. Jimoh Lukman Ishola (house of assembly member representing Oorelope state Constituency).

Justice T. M Abdul Ganiyu (Acting President Customary court of appeal, Justice Oyafato, Justice O.O Ajadi, Chief registrar customary court Mr A.J Adesina and Prince Wahab Adedigba( representing Oyo State Judicial Service Commission)

Also present were President Grade A Customary Mrs. Akinrodoye Imoleayo Tomilola, Magistrate A. Adebiyi, Mr. Sunday Adeoye deputy director public prosecution, Mr. Dele Adisa, Barrister Olajide Olanipekun and members of Oyo chapter, Nigerian Bar Association (NBA).

Oyomesi in council, High Chief Yusuff Akinade Layinka 1, Basorun of Oyo, Chief Wahab, Arinago Basorun, Prince Archbishop Ayo Ladigbolu, Chief David Ademola Oyediran (Baale Aguo), Chief Samuel Olusegun Odunrinde (Baale Ajagba), Chief Badmus Bàsírù (Odofin Akeetan), Chief Gbadebo Kareem Mufutau (Baale Oke-Apo), Chief Oladejo Emmanuel (Baale Balogun Abogunrin Alaafin), Chief Musa Adewole(Onsa Akeetan), Chief Adeleke Baariyun of Oyo, Chief Shittu Basiru Akinyemi(Olusami), Oba Edu Adimula, Morakinyo Fatokun Jayeola, Alhaji Abdul Ganiyu Ajiboye Busari (Alago-Oja of Ago-oja).

Chief Afonja Mukaila (Babayaji), Onasokun Oyo land

Chairman of all PDP party Chairmen in Oyo federal constituency, Hon. Sakiru Ojo, Hon. Adewara Muyiwa, Hon. Adebayo Abel,
Youth leaders and Women leaders in Oyo federal constituency.

Share this via

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *