June 20, 2024

The National Universities Commission, the regulatory body for Nigerian Universities has approved the establishment of a full-time mode for the commencement of 50 programmes for 2023/2024 Academic Session for the Emmanuel Alayande University of Education, Oyo.

In a letter with reference number NUP/AP/S60/Vol.1/03 dated 22 November, 2023 addressed to the Vice Chancellor, Emmanuel Alayande University of Education, Oyo, signed by Mr. Abubakar M. Girei, Ag. Director, Academic Planning on behalf of the Ag. Executive Secretary and made available by the University’s Media & Public Relations Officer, ‘Wale Adeoye, it reads in part, “The Vice Chancellor is please invited to recall that a resource verification visit was carried out by panels of experts to the proposed academic programme in Emmanuel Alayande University of Education, Oyo State with a view to assessing the human and material resources available for its establishment.

I am directed to inform the Vice Chancellor that the Ag. Executive Secretary has considered and approved the establishment of the full-time mode of the following undergraduate programmes , to be run in the main campus of the University with effect from 2023 academic session”. (The approved courses are as listed below)


  1. Department of African languages and Arabic Education (3 Programmes)
    1) B.A. (Ed.) Arabic Education
    2) B.A. (Ed.) Yoruba
    3) B.A. (Ed.) Hausa
  2. Department of European languages Education (3 Programmes)
    4) B.A. (Ed.) English/Literature in English
    5) B.A. English Language and Literary Studies
    6) B.A. (Ed.) French
  3. Department of History and Religious Education (3 Programmes)
    7) B.A. (Ed.) Christian Religious Studies
    8) B.A. (Ed.) Islamic Studies
    9) B.A. (Ed.) History and International Studies
  4. Department of Creative Arts Education (4 Programmes)
    10) B.A. (Ed.) Creative Arts Education
    11) B.A. (Ed.) Music
    12) B.A. (Ed.) Fine and Applied Arts
    13) B.A. (Ed.) Theatre Arts


  1. Department of Biology and Integrated Science Education (2 Programmes)
    14) B.Sc. Biology
    15) B.Sc. (Ed.) Biology Education
    16) B.Sc. (Ed.) Integrated Science
  2. Department of Physical Sciences Education (3 Programmes)
    17) B.Sc. (Ed.) Chemistry Education
    18) B.Sc. Chemistry
    19) B.Sc. (Ed.) Physics Education
  3. Department of Mathematics and Computing Science Education (3 Programmes)
    20) B.Sc. (Ed.) Mathematics Education
    21) B.Sc. (Ed.) Computer Science Education
    22) B.Sc. Computer Science
  4. Department of Human Kinetics (2 Programmes)
    23) B.Sc. (Ed.) Health Education
    24) B.Sc. (Ed.) Human Kinetics/Physical Education  
  5. Department of Economics Education (2 Programmes)
    25) B.Sc. (Ed.) Economic Education
    26) B.Sc. Economics
  6. Department of Geography and Environmental Education (2 Programmes)
    27) B.Sc. (Ed.) Environmental Education
    28) B.Sc. (Ed.) Geography Education
  7. Department of Political Science Education (2 Programmes)
    29) B.Sc. (Ed.) Political Science Education
    30) B.Sc. Political Science
  8. Department of Social Studies and Civic Education (2 Programmes)
    31) B.Sc. (Ed.) Social Works
    32) B.Sc. (Ed.) Social Studies and Civic Education


  1. Department of Special Education and Guidance and Counselling (2 Programmes)
    33) B. Ed. Special Education
    34) B. Ed. Guidance and Counselling
  2. Department of Adult and Nonformal Education (1 Programme)
    35) B.Ed. Adult and Continuing Education
  3. Department of Educational Foundations and Early Childhood Education (2 Programmes)
    36) B.Ed. Early Childhood Education
    37) B.Ed. Primary Education
  4. Department of Educational Management, Library and Information Science (3 Programmes)
    38) B.Ed. Educational Management
    39) B.Ed. Educational Technology
    40) B.LIS. Library and Information Science


  1. Department of Technology Education (5 Programmes)
    41) B. Tech. (Ed.) Building Technology Education
    42) B. Tech. (Ed.) Metal Work Technology Education
    43) B. Tech. (Ed.) Automobile Technology Education
    44) B. Tech. (Ed.) Woodwork Technology Education
    45) B. Tech. (Ed.) Electrical/Electronics Technology Education
  2. Department of Agricultural Science Education (2 Programmes)
    46) B.Sc. (Ed.) Agricultural Science Education
  3. Department of Home Economics Education (1 Programme)
    47) B.Sc. (Ed.) Home Economics Education
  4. Department of Business and Entrepreneurship Education (3 Programmes)
    48) B.Sc. (Ed.) Business Education
    49) B.Sc. (Ed.) Entrepreneurship Education
    50) B.Sc. Accounting

Reacting to the approval, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Olanrewaju Olaniyan expresses his profound appreciation to the Ag. Executive Secretary and his team for giving speedy approval to the 50 proposed academic programmes presented by the institution.

My management and I are very appreciative to His Excellency, Engr. Oluseyi Abiodun Makinde, FNSE for creating an enabling environment for the institution to operate. Honestly, I am delighted with the huge support we received before, during and after the exercise from the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology being led by Professor Salihu Abdulwaheed Adelabu.

The Honourable Commissioner even found time to visit us ahead of the exercise. While specially thanking my Management team and all staff for their support, I assure our prospective students that Admission portal opens, December 2023, he concluded.

Share this via

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *