March 3, 2024

Hon. Folajimi Oyekunle (DON) has joined the list of prominent Africans to be honored with the United Nations Eminent/Peace Ambassador Award by the International Association of World Peace Advocates, others who have been honored as Ambassadors Africa include George Weah, president of Liberia, and Chief of Staff to President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Gbajabiamila, Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State, among others.

The award ceremony was in line with the celebrating the 8th anniversary of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals to mark the global week held in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital.

This recognition makes Oyekunle (DON) part of the first Nigerians to receive such honor, joining a distinguished group of global citizens responsible for promoting and ensuring peace and harmony among humanity under the United Nations’ 1994 Resolution of Sustainable Development Goals.

Folajimi Oyekunle (DON) was a former member of the Oyo State House of Assembly who represented Ibadan North Local Government Constituency 1, Don hails from Oyo State, south-west Nigeria. He is an experienced and versatile person, who has been opportune to attend numerous conferences, both local and international.

Folajimi is known for his philanthropic gestures through the offer of scholarships and palliatives to the less privileged by ensuring that every child has access to education.

Meanwhile, speaking about the award, an elated Folajimi said he would work with other changemakers to ensure and promote an equitable world for all.

“I am expected to promote and safeguard the interest of the United Nations and the Commonwealth both in Nigeria and at the international level. Attend meetings and conferences, and work with other Ambassadors and Permanent Representatives to develop common goals and strategies.

As changemakers, we must work together and unite forces across all sectors to ensure an equitable future that leaves no one behind,” he stated.

Share this via

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *